florida traffic ticket and florida point system

The Florida Point System According to Your Traffic Ticket

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmail

Receiving a traffic ticket for any sort of violation is a nuisance to say the least. Not only does it ruin your day, but it also adds points onto your license. For most individuals, it’s difficult to calculate how many points you have accumulated through traffic tickets according to Florida’s point system and if you’re broaching an area of concern.

The Florida Point System for Common Traffic Tickets

Dieppa Law Firm P.A. provides you with the necessary Florida point system information in order to keep you aware of your status. The following are some examples of common traffic tickets and their point values in Florida:

• Speeding less than 15 mph above the speed limit: 3 points
• Speeding over 15 mph above the speed limit: 4 points
• Speeding that results in a collision: 6 points
• Moving violation that results in a collision: 3 points
• Passing a stopped school bus: 4 points
• Reckless driving: 4 points
• Violating a child restraint law: 3 points
• Littering: 3 points
• Hit and run resulting in property damage over $50: 6 points

The Consequences of Point Accumulation

In the Florida point system, when an individual accumulates 12 points in a period of 12 months, their driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days. If an individual accumulates 18 points within 18 months – this also includes the points from the 12-point suspension – their license will be suspended for 3 months. Lastly, when a person accumulates 24 points within 36 months – including the points from the 12 or 18-month suspension – their license will be suspended for one year.

For Teens Driving With a Learner’s License

If you are a teenager driving under a Learner’s License and have received a traffic ticket, it’s a little different. If a moving violation is obtained, the Learner’s License will be extended to a year from the date of the conviction or until their 18th birthday.

If a driver under the age of 21 is pulled over with a blood alcohol level of .02% or more, they will receive six months of administrative suspension.

Furthermore, if student drivers at 14 years of age accumulate 15 unexcused absences from school within 90 days, will have their driver’s license suspended until they can prove that they have attended school for 30 consecutive days.

What to Do If You Have Received a Traffic Ticket

If you have received a traffic ticket for speeding or a moving violation, we urge you to contact Dieppa Law Firm P.A. Our attorneys have been representing the public for more than five years and have more than ten years of litigation experience. We are capable of representing and defending anyone charged with a traffic violation in the state of Florida. Contact us today for a consultation!

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmail